The art of doing: Why real life training would make a terrible movie

I love movie montages. When I was a tween, I loved the part of Clueless when Brittany Murphy’s character gets the soda cans in her hair and reads all these books and becomes hot enough and “good enough” to hang out with Cher and Dione. I especially liked it because of two things: I had/have hair very close to Brittany’s pre-makeover, and was constantly made fun of for it. The problem is at the time I lived in the Dominican Republic and soda only came in glass bottles, so I really had to get over this. The second reason I especially liked this was something I think I am just getting over now: this transformation was quick. One five-minute montage and the girl is all “rollin with the homies.” This seems to happen in every movie:

Spiderman: “Ahh, I’m bit! Woah, I’m awesome!”

Princess Diaries: “Take a falling star and put it in your pocket, never let it…get it’s hair straightened and meet its grandma and suddenly realize it’s ready to rule a small country.”

Karate Kid: “Hey do you have a couple of weeks to train me? Oh weird, I don’t know why I asked I can already do this!”

It’s really a shame I get all of my life information from movies. These aren’t lifelong epics where time passes along a span of years. What we see here is a short amount of training for big things.

I have this friend who compares how he approaches life to how he eats:

Minute 1: Food is here.

Minute 5: Food is gone.

And I’m exactly the same way. I see what I want and want it now. I don’t want to wait or put in the work all the time…usually none of the time. Usually I have to be tricked into it, like how going to Emerson tricked me into learning.

Here’s why this is bad:

1) Jesus prepared 30 years for 3 years of ministry. We may have to train for a long time to make massive impact…and I won’t even talk about John 14:12 now.

2) Waiting on God’s timing is key. My friend is pregnant right now. She is so excited, but she’s only 14 weeks in. She clearly cannot have that baby now. And a lot of times it’s like that with the vision God plants inside of us. Moving too quickly prevents the fullness of what God has, shows that we don’t trust God and can even hurt people.

There is such a thing as moving too slow as well though. When God says go, we need to GO. God can advance and promote people very quickly, His ways are higher than ours, and the things you are already doing could tie into what God wants you to do.

El Diablo is a liar and loves to give us doubts that we aren’t good enough or skilled enough for what God has for us. E.D. would love to see our fears or self-doubt stifle us from doing what God wants. But what God can do is so much bigger than our faith can contain.

 

Check back tomorrow for more on this.

 

Leave a Reply

