Confession


Some of you think some things about me that just aren’t true.

So to clear some things up:

I am not following Jesus because it makes me happy. I’m not following Jesus because of all the money/well being/community/health/parking spots/giggles/candy He provides me. I’m not paying Him back for all the terrible things I’ve done. I’m not following Jesus because my family does so. I’m not trying to earn my way into heaven.

If the above things were true I would not be following Jesus. I would be following me.

I’m a Christian, a follower of Jesus, because Jesus is the Son of God and He deserves all glory.

If you have a problem with that, it might be because you see God how you see people, and you don’t like people who want glory all for themselves.

And you’re right: you shouldn’t like that…because that glory doesn’t belong to them.

It belongs to Jesus.

God will be glorified in my life because He is good. Not because he is working for me.

I don’t always know why.
I don’t always agree.
I don’t always get my way.
Bad things do and will continue to happen.
God is still good.

 

I have another confession to make:

I know the above is where I want my mentality to be. I know it’s right and I want with everything to declare that, but there are times I do forget that my life isn’t about me. Way more times that I’d like to admit. Probably most of the time if I’m honest. But this is what I’m admitting to God, (and to you) and going to let Him work out in me: my view of Him and my very existence. If I lose sight of that then, what am I even doing?

I feel compelled to share this because,
a)It keeps coming up this week and I think God’s trying to point out something, at least to me.
b) I care about you and want you to think about this stuff to. Why do you do the things you do?

 

If you have time, I totally encourage you to listen to Village Identity Part 1 for more on God and this.

Leave a Reply

